Goat Cheese Stuffed Figs

This recipe is primal rather than paleo, although I don’t doubt that you could make it paleo if you used a nut cheese

Hubby wanted to try fresh figs because he has developed a love of the dried ones… and they had a pack of fresh figs at Costco – I can’t tell you what they cost but it was less than $10 for 24 figs….

So we bought a pack.  We also bought goat cheese and honey… and I made this recipe which is the most amazing cheese course/desert imaginable.

Sadly most of the kids did not like it but Hubby and I did

Cheese, even goat cheese, is an AIP stage 4 reintroduction.  When reintroducing foods on the AIP, I recommend this guide.

Goat Cheese Stuffed Figs

serves 12

stuffedfigs1

)The picture only shows 12 stuffed figs because I only made half the pack…  a full pack of 24 figs would feed 12 people, 12 figs makes 6 portions if you figure 2 figs per person.  I still need to workout what to do with the other 12 figs that are in the fridge seeing as the girls won’t eat them!)

1 pack of 24 fresh figs (Costco)

1 pack of soft goat cheese (I used a 300g pack of Celebrity goat cheese purchased from Costco)

Runny honey

This is so simple that it is almost embarrassing to call it a recipe…

figs1

Take your figs and cut them in 4 crosswise from the stem to almost down to the base without cutting all the way through – basically you want a fig with the base intact and cross-wise cuts but it still intact and holding together.  Then take a big table spoonful of goat cheese  and stuff it in the middle of those crosswise cuts.  Use the rest of  the figs and put them on a serving platter and drizzle the whole thing with some runny honey.  Don’t use too much figs are sweet and fresh figs have an ethereal sweetness that dried ones do not…

Chill in the fridge until ready to serve and impress your dinner guests…

This is another recipe that is primal rather than paleo…  I liked it, hubby liked it, the kids did not….  I guess it won’t be featuring on our Christmas buffet cheeseboard!

7 thoughts on “Goat Cheese Stuffed Figs

    • You really should try them. Dried figs are incredibly sweet. But the fresh ones have a wonderful flavour, sweet, but not overly so, with a really subtle aroma and an almost creamy texture… I love figs!

  1. I LOVE FIGS!! The fact that you were able to get them at Costco is AWESOME (figs in bulk sounds delightful)! Stuffed figs are so delicious… Another take on this that I’ve done in the past for appetizers is very similar to what you’ve done. Mix goat or feta cheese with honey, to give a little sweet to the tang. Stuff the figs with the mixture and then wrap the figs in bacon. sprinkle with fresh cracked black pepper, and bake @400F until the bacon is crispy and the cheese is melted. I served these with some toasted chopped Almonds as a topping. Everyone seemed to like them, so if your looking for a hot version of what you made there you go! I hope you have some leftover figs to try this with!… CHEERS!

    • Thankyou for the reply… I will certainly be trying the hot version… who knows, maybe the kids will like that one better than they liked my cold desert.

Leave a comment