Nomato “Chilli” in the Slow Cooker

I have had the family bugging me about the lack of chilli that we have been eating since I have been eating AIP – that would be because I can’t eat nightshades, and tomatoes and chilli, 2 important components of most chilli recipes are not AIP friendly…

I have seen some AIP Chilli recipes in the past, but none of them were cooked in the slow-cooker…  and I wanted a slow-cooker recipe so that it would cook while I was at work.

I decided I would play around with my usual slow-cooker chilli recipe and see what I could come up with…

This recipe is AIP-friendly, nightshade, gluten and dairy free, and contains no beans.

Because this recipe contains no chilli, it is not spicy, so if you are not AIP and can tolerate chilli well, feel free to add chilli to this.  Or you could just do what Hubby and the kids did and add some hot-sauce to spice it up.

Nomato “Chilli”

serves 6 with leftovers

NMC3

  • 2 medium onions – chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic – crushed
  • 2lb ground beef – preferably grass-fed.
  • 3 cups bone broth
  • 3 large carrots – peeled and diced
  • ½ medium rutabaga – peeled and diced
  • 2 medium beets – peeled and grated
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • ¼ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp allspice (omit if strict AIP)
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste (omit the pepper if sensitive to it or strict AIP)
  • 2 tbsp tapioca flour to thicken (optional)
  • Homemade guacamole to serve

All I did with this recipe was pile all of the ingredients except for the tapioca flour into the slow cooker and give it a good mix.

Cook on low for 8 hours.

Taste and adjust seasonings as necessary.  If necessary, thicken with some tapioca flour mixed with a little water.  I found this was needed.

Serve topped with a spoonful of guacamole.

NMC2

I also served this with cauliflower rice.

Shared at the Paleo AIP Recipe Roundtable #26

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

